可持续发展

可持续发展和负责任的商业实践是引导矽比科的核心价值观。 我们认识到,今天的决策会带来长远的后果,我们需要积极主动地管理运营和资源,确保员工、客户、社区成员和利益相关者有一个可从中受益的、可持续发展的未来。

矽比科着眼于长远前景来实施管理。 我们为未来投资,侧重吸引并留住最优秀的人才、价值创造以及可持续发展。 可持续发展计划有助于我们平衡实现经济效益、环境管理和社会责任。

可持续资源管理

矽比科致力于高效利用被授予特权利用的自然资源。 按照卓越运营和可持续业务模式,我们的工厂尽力优化运营绩效,实现最少运营足迹。

我们与地方当局密切合作,遵守他们制定的环境法规,并确保尽可能少地造成破坏。 这让我们得以快速轻松地融入当地环境和社区。

我们同样重视运营结束后土地如何利用。 我们开展研究并仔细规划,确保当地社区可重复利用土地且土地可用于生产。

水的利用

水是采矿和矿物加工的必要组成部分。 我们深知这一重要资源的质量受限,并且努力确保以对业务具有成本效益的方式以及对社区和环境可持续的方式来进行水管理。

矽比科将节约和回收过程水贯穿整个闭环系统,力求优化水平衡。 在干旱地区,对雨水进行管理可将自然降水用于生产。 矽比科的许多工作场所都使用雨水收集系统来补充回收水,以期最大程度降低从当地含水层抽取的水量。 我们同样坚持控制出水水质,仔细监控和管理允许的排放,以符合当地法规。

能源消耗

我们提升能源效率的目标与我们持续改进和卓越运营的文化相契合。 矽比科工厂的运营尽量将能源消耗降至最低,包括如水电和生物气体等可再生能源,以帮助保护有限的油气资源。 多个工厂利用废气来预热干燥器电路,额外提高能源效率。

土地

""我们的目标是以最终恢复矿区生态环境的方式来实现经济目标与环境保护之间的平衡。 我们采用三维矿山建模来绘制独特的地质特征,在某种程度上最大化土地的生产潜力,同时将浪费降至最低。 建模过程获得的数据汇编到矿山平面图中,为原矿的安全高效提取提供技术指导。

我们不断审查并调整每份矿床平面图,确保提取和选矿过程符合客户的要求。 矿山平面图为客户提供质量保证信息,并验证我们作为可持续供应商的表现。

长久的当地合作伙伴关系

矽比科努力让自己成为当地社区的“理想邻居”。 针对当地情况制定社区行动计划是赢得社区尊重和为社区做贡献的一种方法。 行动计划随组织的多样化而不同;从为遗产项目提供财务支持到建设区域学校,再到为遭受干旱的社区提供安全的饮用水。

我们同时也认识到,社区的经济和社会可行性是可持续发展表现的一个重要部分,并且我们将在当地对原料和服务的支出视为对未来的投资。 为了社区和周边地区的利益,我们作为他们就业、现金流和收入的可持续来源而在当地经济中发挥作用,为此我们深感自豪。

睦邻政策

矽比科可持续发展计划包括若干衡量标准和资源,旨在最大程度地降低运营对周边社区的潜在影响。 矽比科的每座工厂都通过综合环境审核与对比影响研究,识别潜在问题来源,并主动采取纠正或缓解措施。

我们利用更干净的替代能源并安装能够降低排放的控制设备来实现这一点。 同时,我们还对运营进行监控,以最大程度地减少噪音、振动以及对近邻和周边社区的视觉冲击。

健康安全文化

安全、健康的工作环境是我们可持续发展计划的基石,而这一工作环境可通过提升并加强对员工、承包商和来访者的最佳实践的计划来实现。 我们鼓励最佳实践,并为团队在传递公司这一核心价值方面所取得的成就表示称赞。

Going for Zero

""“Going for Zero”是矽比科的全球安全改进计划,旨在消除业务中的所有伤害。 “Going for Zero”采取全面的安全措施,将全球安全标准和行为培训与同行实践相结合,让每一位员工都成为安全主管。 该计划的目标是加强员工对工作环境中潜在风险的意识,让每个员工都具有对同事的安全负责的责任感。 矽比科将安全放在首位,每个矽比科员工都将接受“Going for Zero”培训。

Sustainability

Sustainable development and responsible business practices are some of the core values that guide Sibelco. We recognise that today’s decisions can have long-term consequences, and we need to proactively manage our operations and resources to ensure a beneficial and sustainable future for our employees, customers, community members and stakeholders.

Sibelco is managed with a long-term perspective. We invest for the future, with an emphasis on attracting and retaining the best people, value-creation and sustainable development. Our sustainability programs facilitate the balanced pursuit of economic performance, environmental stewardship and social responsibility.

Sustainable resource management

Sibelco is committed to the efficient use of the natural resources that we are privileged to use. Consistent with our Operational Excellence and sustainable business model, our plants operate to optimise our operational performance with a minimal operational footprint.

We work closely with local authorities to meet their environmental regulations and to ensure there is as little disruption as possible. This enables us to fit into local environments and communities quickly and easily.

Just as important to us is how land is used after our operations have stopped. We undertake studies and conduct careful planning to ensure land is reusable and productive for the local communities.

Water utilisation

Water is an essential component of our mining and mineral processing. We understand the finite quality of this vital resource and work diligently to ensure that water is managed in a way that is cost effective for the business as well as sustainable for the community and environment.

Sibelco strives to optimise our water balance by conserving and recycling our process waters in closed loop systems. In arid regions, storm water management represents an opportunity to put natural precipitation to productive use. Many Sibelco locations operate rainwater collection systems to supplement recycling efforts, with an objective to minimise volumes drawn from the local aquifer. We are equally committed to control effluent water quality and diligently monitor and manage permitted discharge to meet local regulations.

Energy consumption

Our objective to improve our energy efficiency is consistent with our culture of continuous improvement and Operational Excellence. Sibelco plants operate to minimise energy consumption, including renewable energy sources such as hydropower and bio-gas to help preserve finite hydrocarbon resources. Several plants utilise exhaust gases to pre-heat dryer circuits for additional energy efficiency.

Land

sustainability-imageOur objective is to balance economic objectives with environmental conservancy, in a manner that ultimately returns mined land to an ecologically appropriate landscape. We employ three-dimensional mine modeling to plot unique geologic features in a way that maximises the land’s productive potential while minimising waste. Data from the modeling process is compiled in a mine plan that provides technical guidance for the safe and efficient extraction of the raw ore.

Each deposit plan is continuously reviewed and adjusted to ensure the extraction and beneficiation processes are aligned with customer requirements. The mine plan provides quality assurance information to our customers and validates our performance as a sustainable supplier.

Enduring local partnerships

Sibelco strives to be the ‘neighbor of choice’ for local communities. Locally formulated community action plans are one way to be a respected and contributing member of the community. Action plans can be as diverse as our organisation; ranging from financial support for heritage projects, to construction of a regional school, to providing safe drinking water for drought-stricken communities.

We also recognise that the economic and social viability of our communities is an important part of our sustainable performance, and regard local spending to source goods and services as an investment in our future. We’re proud to play a role in the local economy by being a sustainable source of employment, cash flow and revenue for the benefit of our communities and the surrounding regions.

Good neighbor policy

Sibelco sustainability programs include metrics and resources to minimise the potential impacts of our operations on surrounding communities. Each Sibelco plant undergoes a comprehensive environmental audit and comparative impact study to identify potential sources for concern and proactively take corrective or mitigating action.

We accomplish this by using cleaner alternate energy sources and installing control devices that reduce emissions. We also monitor our operations to minimise noise, vibration and visual impacts upon our immediate neighbors and surrounding communities.

Health and safety culture

A safe and healthy work environment is the cornerstone of our sustainability initiatives and is achieved through programs that promote and reinforce best practices for our employees, contractors and visitors. We encourage best practices and celebrate the achievements of our team in delivering on this core company value.

Going for Zero

GFZLogo_Revised“Going for Zero” is Sibelco’s worldwide safety improvement program with the objective to eliminate all injuries from our business. Going for Zero takes a comprehensive approach to safety that combines global safety standards and behavioral training with peer practice to make every employee a safety leader. The goal is to increase awareness of potential risks in a work environment where each employee feels responsibility for the safety of their colleagues. As safety is Sibelco’s number one priority, every Sibelco employee will undergo Going for Zero training.