矿砂

钛铁矿、金红石和锆石是在澳大利亚昆士兰州的矽比科北斯特拉布鲁克岛工厂从砂矿中开采的三种重矿物。 提炼出的重矿物占总砂子的 1%。 剩下的 99% 用于采矿后恢复。

钛铁矿

将钛铁矿混合并加工可制成二氧化钛,二氧化钛是一种优质的白色颜料,无毒,防紫外线 (UV)、防水并且耐化学腐蚀。

由于二氧化钛颜料能够反射太阳光中的有害紫外线及防止油漆脱落,一半以上的二氧化钛颜料都用于生产涂料(家装、工业及汽车等)。 二氧化钛也是用于生产防晒霜、化妆品、塑料、油墨、纸张、牙膏以及如面粉和糖粉等一些食品的重要成分,其可有效增强这些产品的亮度。

金红石

金红石主要有三种应用:二氧化钛颜料、药芯焊丝和钛金属生产。

金红石在加工成二氧化钛颜料后,可和钛铁矿一样用于同一种产品。 由于在制造中使用金红石可以最高效地生产产品,且浪费最少,它有时作为生产二氧化钛颜料的首选原料。

药芯焊丝是压力容器、石化管道和重型设备制造的首选焊接耗材,因为其能够稳定电弧,确保实现优质焊缝。

金红石也可转化为海绵钛,然后加工成钛金属。 钛金属的独特属性包括高强度重量比、高熔点和耐腐蚀性。 这使金红石成为航空航天工业中用于制造飞机机身和喷气式发动机的首选金属。 此外,它通常还用于生产顶级体育器材、起搏器、假肢、手术设备、眼镜架和手表。 钛金属与铁、锰和铝等其他金属混合时,会形成耐高温、耐腐蚀的合金,这些合金在不同环境条件下有广泛的用途。

锆石

由于锆石能够呈现不透明效果(白度和亮度),并能在瓷砖、卫生洁具(浴缸、水槽和马桶)以及陶制餐具等产品上产生光滑面,50% 以上的锆石都用于制陶工业。 锆石是一种既坚硬又坚固的材料,在高温下和腐蚀性环境中仍可保持其物理和化学成分。 它还是一种极好的铸造和耐火材料,可用于耐火砖中,尤其是在炼钢和玻璃制造所用的熔炉中。

锆石的用途:

  • 阻止计算机和电视监视器中阴极射线管 (CRT) 中 X 射线的发射。
  • 生产生物医疗器械,例如髋关节和膝关节置换器械、可充电轻量级电池、电视屏幕、熔断器和牙膏。
  • 用作专业熔模铸造或高精度浇铸的铸造用砂。

锆合金具有较低的热中子吸收性,因此可用作核电站中燃料棒的外壳。

矿砂

Mineral sands

Ilmenite, rutile and zircon are the three heavy minerals mined from the sand mines at Sibelco’s North Stradbroke Island Operation in Queensland, Australia. The heavy minerals extracted account for 1% of the total sand. The remaining 99% is used in post mining rehabilitation.

Ilmenite

Ilmenite is blended and processed to create titanium dioxide, a high quality white pigment which is ultraviolet (UV), water and chemically resistant while also being non-toxic.

More than half of all titanium dioxide pigment is used in the production of paints (household, industrial and automotive etc.) as it reflects the sun’s harmful UV rays and protects paint from peeling. Titanium dioxide is also an important ingredient in the manufacturing of sunscreen, cosmetics, plastics, ink, paper, toothpaste and some foods such as flour and icing sugar to improve their brightness.

Rutile

Rutile is used in three major applications: titanium dioxide pigment, flux core welding wire and titanium metal production.

Rutile, when processed into titanium dioxide pigment, can be used in the same products as ilmenite. Rutile is sometimes the preferred source for titanium dioxide pigment as it provides the most efficient product with the least waste in manufacture.

Flux core welding wire is the preferred welding consumable for pressure vessels, petrochemical piping, and heavy-equipment manufacturing, as flux core wire stabilises the electric arc ensuring a superior joint.

Rutile can also be converted into titanium sponge, which is then processed into titanium metal. Titanium metal’s unique properties include its high strength-to-weight ratio, high melting point and resistance to corrosion. This makes rutile a preferred metal in the aerospace industry for manufacturing aircraft frames and jet engines. It is also commonly used to produce top quality sporting equipment, pacemakers, artificial limbs, surgical equipment, spectacle frames and watches. When Titanium metal is mixed with other metals such as iron, manganese and aluminium, it forms alloys which are both temperature and corrosion resistant meaning they have a wide array of uses in difficult environments.

Zircon

More than 50% of all zircon is used in the ceramics industry due to zircon’s ability to impart opacity, (whiteness and brightness) and to create glazes on products such as tiles, sanitary-ware (baths, sinks and toilets) and crockery. Zircon is a hard and tough material as it maintains its physical and chemical composition when subjected to high temperatures and corrosive environments. It is an extremely good foundry and refractory material, used in refractory bricks, especially in furnaces for steel and glass making.

Zircon is used:

  • to block X-ray emissions in cathode ray tubes (CRT) found in computers and television monitors.
  • to produce biomedical devices such as hip and knee replacements, rechargeable light weight batteries, television screens, fuses and toothpaste.
  • as a foundry sand for specialist investment casting or high-precision casting.

Zircon alloy is used as the housing for fuel rods in nuclear power stations, due to its low thermal neutron absorption.